Greetings, fellow humans!

Hi, I’m theactualcolin. You may remember me from such blogs as Tales from the Aaronorium and Warseer: A Tale of 40k Painters 2008-2016.

I’ve been in hobby for over 25 years and started out when I got the second edition 40k boxed set for Christmas way back in 1995. I’ve always had a soft spot for Orks, and at last count had about 14,000 points of them for 40k. Roughly 75% of them are built/painted; mostly Deathskulls, Bad Moons and Evil Sunz, with a few Blood Axes, Goffs and Snakebites thrown in for good measure.

Over the past five years I’ve also branched out into Age of Sigmar – opting to collect fantasy greenskins alongside my sci-fi ones. I’ve currently got about 5,000 points of Orruk Warclans and 6,000 points of Moonclan Grots, of which roughly 65% of them are built/painted. I’ve also got a few boxes of Ogor Mawtribes set aside for way down the line.

Having said that, I’m currently in the process of painting up a Kill Team of Chaos Legionaries for an all-Chaos Kill Team campaign. I’ve picked the Alpha Legion and have just painted up the Aspiring Champion as a test model. I mostly followed this video and painted the base to match our Zone Mortalis tiles. I’m quite pleased with the results, although with all of the trim to work around I wouldn’t exactly call it speed painting. I should still have enough time to be able to get the rest of the unit finished in the next few weeks ready for some games at the end of the month.

Here’s my recipe, for anyone who’s interested:

Basecoat
Trim: Leadbelcher then Necron Compound [drybrush]
Armour: Sotek Green
Loincloth/eyes: Mephiston Red
Pouches/horns/straps: Dryad Bark
Gun casings: Abaddon Black
Skulls: Rakarth Flesh
Plasma: Averland Sunset

Wash
Armour: Coelia Greenshade
Plasma: Baal Red
Everything else: Nuln Oil

Bases
Leadbelcher
Necron Compound [drybrush]
Stegadon Scale Green [recesses]
Nuln Oil
Kabalite Green [recesses]
Abaddon Black [rims]

In the new year, I’m hoping to finally make a start on getting enough terrain painted to host both Age of Sigmar and 40k games at home. I donated all of my assembled/painted terrain to my local club and/or the Aaronorium years ago, so all I currently have is a set of the terrain from Kill Team: Octarius and a few other Orky bits. For 40k I’ll be aiming for a desert scrapyard/Dawn of War/Gorkamorka-vibe, whereas for Age of Sigmar I’ll be going for some more generic fantasy terrain set in the Realm of Beasts/Ghur.

Leave a comment